Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Just like Jesus Devotional

Book Description:

God wants to give you a heart just like Jesus.
Jesus felt no guilt; God wants you to feel no guilt.
Jesus had no bad habits; God wants to do away with yours.
Jesus had no fears; God wants the same for you.
Jesus had no anxiety about death; you needn't either.
God's desire, his plan, his ultimate goal is to make you into the image of Christ.
This is your invitation to spend thirty intimate days with the Savior learning how to become more like Jesus. Can you think of a better offer?

My Review:
Well surprise surprise Max Lucado has done it again. He has written a down-to-earth, easy to understand book that touches the heart and warms your heart and soul! 

This devotional is amazing. Offering not just a daily devotional but some very interesting and thought provoking questions after each daily reading. If you are looking for a wonderful devotional this is an excellent way to start!!!

I would recommend this hands down! 

Disclosure of Material Connection:
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Monday, December 31, 2012

KJV Brides Bible Review

Recently I had the privilege to review this wonderful well put together bible from Thomas Nelson
signature series bible collection. The Bride's Bible is designed specifically for what it says , it's a bible to give a bride on her wedding day .It's a thin line edition small able to carry in a purse or pocket and has a absolutely gorgeous cover. In the front it has places to present it to bride on her wedding day and places to put pictures in as well! I even had my mother fill out some of it for me! It is a wonderful keepsake that any bride would cherish for a lifetime! 
I highly recommend considering this a gift for the special bride in your life! 

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Real Marriage - Marc and Grace Driscoll

My Thoughts…

This is the first book I've read by Mark Driscoll. I'll will admit it: I was drawn in by a desire to see what all the fuss is about, I have heard nothing but rave reviews. After getting the DVD based study in the mail my husband and I read it, my conclusion is that there's more smoke than fire. My guess some of the content is going to be shocking to some folks, but other books on Christian marriage also cover the same topics--Including a book by our Pastor. Honestly we both thought it was NOT for us…kind eh!

The first part of the book is about marriage. Mark and Grace share bluntly about their marriage and sexual history, including Grace's history of sexual assault…Ok I totally identify with that personally. Although they are very forth coming, I didn't like it…I can't put my finger on why.
Part two is about sex. Chapter Six is a theology of sex. Chapter 7 is written by Grace and talks about healing from sexual abuse…again I identify with this part. Chapter 8 is a great explanation of the dangers and exploitation associated with pornography. Chapter 9 talks about the attitude we should have toward marital sex--servant as opposed to selfish. Chapter 10 is the infamous "Can we___" chapter. 

If you are a pastor, counselor, or life coach and reading this review I would ask that you read the book first and prayerfully decide whether you would recommend it or not. 

I would recommend this book to certain people in my life…NOT everyone. However I am grateful for Mark and Grace's ministry in their home, for the sake of Christ's Church, and their commitment to tackle all things related to the gospel through the lenses of Scripture, their own experiences, and with a passion for Jesus Christ. I DO believe that their a many people who could benefit from reading this book and being involved in the bible study...

From the Publisher…
Most marriage books assume the author did it right. Most marriage books barely mention friendship. Most marriage books use "intimacy" as code for "sex." This is not one of those books.
In Real Marriage, Pastor Mark Driscoll and his wife, Grace, share how they have struggled and how they have found healing through the power of the only reliable source: the Bible. They believe friendship is fundamental to marriage but not easy to maintain. So they offer practical advice on how to make your spouse your best friend - and keep it that way. And they know from experience that sex-related issues need to be addressed directly.

About the Author…
Pastor Mark Driscoll is the founding pastor of Mars Hill Church in Seattle, Washington and is one of the world's most-downloaded and quoted pastors. His audience--fans and critics alike--spans the theological and cultural left and right. He was also named one of the "25 Most Influential Pastors of the Past 25 Years" by Preaching magazine, and his sermons are consistently #1 on iTunes each week for Religion & Spirituality with over 10 million of downloads each year. 

Pastor Mark received a B.A. in Speech Communication from the Edward R. Murrow School of Communication at Washington State University, and he holds a masters degree in Exegetical Theology from Western Seminary in Portland, Oregon. He is the author of fifteen books.

  • Hardcover:
  • 272 pages
  • Publisher:
  • Thomas Nelson (January 3, 2012)
  • Language:
  • English
  • ISBN-10:
  • 140020383X
  • ISBN-13:
  • 978-1400203833

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Secure Daughter, Confident Sons

"Secure Daughter, Confident Sons," by Glenn T. Stanton and was impressed. There is a lot of research in this book (science and religion don't have to contradict each other) as well as some biblical backing. Overall, this is a solid read for Christian parents. For non-Christians, it still has some great advice, but some parts of it may grate on you.

As the father of a daughter and two sons, I could see the gender-specific characteristics in my children that Stanton outlines in the book. I'm encouraged in the ways my wife and I can help guide our daughter and sons into healthy manhood and womanhood. Boys don't become men by accident. Men are made. Similarly, men need to initiate boys into manhood, and this can be done through creative ceremonies. Men need to challenge boys, calling out the man that is in them. They need to show boys what it looks like to be a man of God, and challenge them to follow that example.

"Stanton states clearly in the book, that there isn't a difference in value between men and women, boys and girls, but there is a clear difference in role and other attributes. The author doesn't seek to further the macho-man, little-princess-girl mentality. Nor does he push the everyone is the same agenda. Very clearly, Stanton wants us to know that there is a middle ground, and he intends to stay there."

I appreciated the parenting advice in this book, having three small children: a son and boy/girl twins and probably future children, this is nice to have. For those who are in single-parent homes, there is still wisdom to be gleaned, but it might be a little tougher to weed out. I don't think that is an indictment against that segment of the population. Instead, I think Stanton had to focus on one group of parents, and that is the group he chose.

Overall, this is a nice book by an author who has done his research. It is also a book on a topic that can be a little politically-charged. It's nice to see someone able to come into that environment and present a reasonable argument. I would recommend it!

Publishers description….
Raise secure, confident kids in a gender-confused world

In this eye-opening book, family researcher Glenn T. Stanton offers a clear vision for why gender matters in how we raise our children. His thought-provoking insights expose the problems with stifling stereotypes and damaging cultural assumptions, then highlight a practical pathway for guiding children into healthy manhood and womanhood.

You’ll discover…
   ·  what gender-appropriate behavior looks like at various ages—and why you shouldn’t panic if your toddler boy plays with his sister’s dolls. 
   ·  how to help your daughter become secure in her sense of significance—whether she prefers chasing butterflies or shooting hoops.
   ·  how to inspire your son to compete and take healthy risks—in ways that fit his unique personality.
   ·  how moms and dads complement one another as they discipline differently, comfort differently, and influence differently.
   ·  what you can do on a daily basis to nurture your children’s God-given design and help them resist the pressure to conform to arbitrary cultural rules. 

With practical tools, well-researched insights, and real-life scenarios, this book equips parents to launch daughters who are secure in the power of their femininity and sons who are confident in their strength to make a difference in the world.

What is being said….
"The culture tells us that the lines separating male and female are meaningless, but Glenn Stanton has tapped into the critical importance of recognizing and cultivating the distinct qualities of boys and girls. His book gives parents practical tools to help them appreciate and develop the femininity of their dauthers and the masculinity of their sons. Glenn's work demonstrates that each gender is uniquely gifted by God for a purpose, and by celebrating these gender-specific behaviors and attitudes, we strengthen families and help men and women find purpose and fulfillment."
-Jim Daly, president and CEO of Focus on the Famliy
  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Multnomah Books (January 18, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1601422946
  • ISBN-13: 978-1601422941
***Please note that I received this book for free from Waterbrook-Multnomah in exchange for this unbiased review.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

STUCK {DVD Bible Study Review}

The STUCK bible study came to me in a very surprising way. After completing a book review with book sneeze I decided to browse the current selections of books. There was very little I was interested in at that time, but I did see there was a DVD bible study. I thought that we be perfect for my husband and me do together. So I selected it! Honestly I didn’t really have any idea what to expect. I was thinking that it would be a DVD with a little book to go along with it. A few days after selecting my book, my life had been turned upside down with emotion, I was feeling out of control, overwhelmed, sad and lonely. When the package arrived I was shocked at the size of it…larger than any other package I had ever gotten from Booksneeze. We were in the car so I waited until my husband was pumping gas before I opened it. The was not just a DVD and small little dinky book, this was a beautiful box with a Leader guide, a bible study book, a large package of discussion cards AND a DVD! I could believe it! I was so excited I started going through the book…and that when I realized that this was a bible study for Women! Not just for anyone and everyone but for ME! I opened up the cards {they are broken down into 8 sections} including Overwhelmed, Sad, Stuck! EXACTLY what I needed…I burst into tears, not only because that it was clear that God had put my in the right place at the right time to get the amazing study…but because after my husband was done pumping gas we were going to Lifeway book store so I could choose a Bible Study specifically for women! Wow God Wow!! Always amazing me!

Stuck is fantastic! First of all, I love the versatility of this study. The language is simple enough to be done by a new believer. The content is deep enough to challenge the long-time Christian.

It speaks to those who have simply lost the joy and those who are trying to get the hang of the whole thing altogether, like I was feeling at the time I got the Study! The whole premise for the study is living the abundant life God intended for us by leaving behind the less abundant things we’ve been holding on to….things that have no eternal value.

I adore Jennie's casual style in the videos. The study guide itself is unlike any I’ve seen, it is exactly what I needed! It’s not ho hum or anything like that! Jennie mixes digging into Scripture passages with introspective journaling and actual service projects. This isn’t just a head-knowledge type of study. The homework is short enough to do the whole lesson in 30-45 minutes. It worked great for me, with the kids watching a movie or playing I can sit down and have a little time to do this study!

really excited about this study.  I’m can’t wait for more work by Jennie Allen.

I HIGHLY recommend this to any and every woman! This would be a perfect gift for you Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, ect!

Publisher's Description
We are often so stuck in invisible struggles in our hearts and minds, we barely have space for God. These deep struggles, these stuck places, are familiar to every one of us: brokenness, anger, discontentment, fear, and sadness.Stuck takes on these struggles within us so that we can encounter God. Because until we recognize that we are stuck and in need of God, we will miss what He has for us.
Designed for use with the Stuck DVD-based study (9781418548735), this companion study guide breaks the mold of typical women's curriculum. Story, Bible study, and simple but highly interactive projects play a major role. From drawing, journaling, or interacting with the homeless, women will have the opportunity to connect with each other and Scripture in deep and authentic ways.
Features include:
8 sessions
Simple but highly interactive projects
Story-driven teaching
Scripture study

* I was given this book for free in return for my honest feedback. This review is in my Opinion!

Friday, October 14, 2011

A Vision of Lucy By: Margaret Brownley

I completely loved A Vision of Lucy by Margaret Brownley! Such a wonderful story in the Rocky Creek Romance series! Taking Place in 1882, in Rocky Creek, TX - A Vision of Lucy is about Lucy Fairbanks, a young lady who has a passion for photography. I loved Lucy from the very first paragraphy! She longs to do something important with her talent as a photographer! Then there is the hero David, I  adored/fell in love with him from the beginning. He is a quiet, rustic man who lives with  emotinaol pain and is struggling with what to do about the past that is haunting him. Lucy and David meet and the truths they discover will forever change their lives and the lives of others!

I couldn't get enough of this wonderful book, I could barely put it down and when I did I found my mind wondering off wondering what was going to happen next! Margaret Brownley does such an amazing job with connecting the reader to the plot and to the characters. The plot was very different than what I thought it was going to be and I never wanted to put the book down. The characters were all fantastic! I loved the way that each chaper is started with a fun little quote - I found my self laughing outload many times!

Chaper Two-
"Never say "Shoot" when you mean "photograph" especially when talking to a trigger - happy gunslinger."

Chaper Twenty - One-
"A man imagines himself more handsome then his photograph; a women believes herself more homely."

My favorite character was David. - the half breed (half white man - half indian) this is near and dear, at the same time the story takes place, and in the same state of Texas my Great Grandmother (a half breed) married my Great Grandfather. I felt a connection with David from the moment his story unfolded!

Then there is Lucy, sweet, loveable Lucy. There were times, many times, I literally laughed out loud with the hilarious predicaments that Lucy found herself in.

"Like her mother, Lucy felt compelled to capture the world around her and preserve moments in time that would never be repeated. The only difference was their choice of expression." - Page 28

I enjoyed the history on photography - since I am a photography business owner:)  I also enjoyed all the other historical lessons throughout the book and the spiritual threads as well. It was fun how there were little mentions of companies that we still know and love. The romance between Lucy and David was sweet although very passionate at times. This story has everything- romance, mystery, suspense, and history!
I highly recommend A Vision of Lucy, along with the other Rocky Creek Romances.

Product Description
Trouble follows Lucy wherever she goes. So does a vision of second chances . . . and love.
Lucy Fairbanks dreams of working as a photographer at the Rocky Creek newspaper. Her deepest hope is that her father will see her as an artist, the way he thought of her deceased mother, whose paintings still hang on their walls.

But disaster follows Lucy on every photo assignment: a mess of petticoats and ribbons, an accidental shooting, even a fire.

When Lucy meets David Wolf-a rugged, reclusive man who lives on the outskirts of town-she thinks she can catch the attention of the town with his photograph. She doesn't count on her feelings stirring whenever she's near him.

Two things happen next that forever change the course of Lucy's life. But will these events draw her closer to God or push her further away? And how will David accept this new vision of Lucy?

Paperback: 336 pages
Publisher: Thomas Nelson (June 28, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1595548114
ISBN-13: 978-1595548115

*I received 'A Vision Of Lucy' for free from the publisher through BookSneeze®.com. The opinions I have expressed are my own.*

Game Plan for Life By: Joe Gibb

Joe Gibbs - the man behind Joe Gibbs Racing (NASCAR) and two stints as head coach of the Washington Redskins - has released a book with his new "team" of experts.
Game Plan for Life is written for men. I think that there are some women who would find a book all about sport references a little boring, then others would enjoy it. I do think that this would make a fantastic gift for the man in your life! Every Christian sports fan would love this book! I know I did!
Sometimes in the sports world there seems to be so much corruptions and hatred. It was so nice and refreshing to read about a man who lives for the LORD and isn't afraid to show it. I wish more could be this way.
I really enjoyed the way each chapter is devoted to an area of life men are concerned about. Gibbs asks 11 different people to address each topic after he shares a few pages from his own life.
The topics include:
Finances by Ron Blue
Health by Dr Walt Larimore
Relationships by Don Meredith
Vocation by Dr Os Guinness
The Bible by Josh McDowell
God by Dr Ken Boa
Creation by Dr John Lennox
Sin and Addiction by Ravi Zacharias
Salvation by Chuck Colson
Purpose by Dr Tony Evans
Heaven by Randy Alcorn

I am a HUGE NFL fan and a NASCAR fan! So I really enjoy reading about when the men involved are walking with Christ in the national media, I greatly enjoyed reading about the struggles and success of Coach Gibbs and how he became a devoted man of God.
You will too! I highly recommend!

Product Description

Three-time Super Bowl and NASCAR champion Joe Gibbs’s Game Plan for Life is an “average Joe’s” guide to what the Bible has to say about the 11 most-important topics for men. Topics such as: finances, relationships, living a life of purpose, finding the right vocation, physical, emotional, and spiritual health, and overcoming sin and addictions. Edited by Jerry Jenkins, and featuring contributions from Randy Alcorn, Ravi Zacharias, John Lennox, Tony Evans, Chuck Colson, Josh McDowell, Don Meredith, Walt Larimore, Ron Blue, Ken Boa, and Os Guinness, Game Plan for Lifeshows readers how to live a balanced, God-centered, purpose-filled life, using examples of Coach Gibbs’s own storied championship careers as a backdrop. A perfect blend of sports and basic theology, Game Plan for Life is designed to bring God’s word home to sports fans of all generations.
  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.; 1st edition (July 21, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1414329792
  • ISBN-13: 978-1414329796